Provisional lists of bees and aculeate wasps of Portugal

Systematics and other topics

Provisional lists of bees and aculeate wasps of Portugal

Postby Montanus on 24 Oct 2009, 22:11

On behalf of David Baldock, UK, I post this call for co-operation:

Portugal is one of the most under-recorded countries in Europe for aculeate Hymenoptera. The most recent list of bees was published as long ago as 1960 by M.A. Diniz and this contained only 140 species; most of his records were from around Lisbon and Coimbra where he worked in the University. Since then there have been only a handful of papers on bees of Portugal although some Spanish papers have referred to Portuguese records. There seems to be no active aculeate recording by any Portuguese at present.

I have been visiting the Algarve every spring for the last ten years and Jan Smit, a member from Holland, collected there in May 2004. We therefore decided that there was a need for a provisional list of bees and have started to compile this. Jan has been trawling through numerous papers for Portuguese records and with our own records we already have a list of over 500 species. The Algarve should have a very similar bee fauna to that of neighbouring Andalucia which has a list of about 600. The whole of Spain probably has about 1200 or more bee species but many of these are montane, from the Pyrenees and Picos de Europa; Portugal does not have any high mountains and is a much smaller country so the total number of species is likely to be considerably less than this. The fauna is interesting as it includes many North African species and probably quite a few Iberian endemics.